Thursday, July 30, 2009

List of New Philippine National Artists 2009

President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo announced the New Philippine National Artists for 2009 at Malacanang yesterday and here is the list

1. Manuel Urbano, a.k.a. Manuel Conde : for the Film and Broadcast Category (posthumous);
2. Lazaro Francisco: for Literature (posthumous)
3. Federico Aguilar-Alcuaz: for Visual Arts, Painting, Sculpture and Mixed Media;
4. Cecilia Guidote-Alvarez: for Theater;
5. Francisco “Bobby” MaƱosa: for Architecture;
6. Carlo J. Caparas: for Visual Arts and Film
7. Jose "Pitoy" Moreno: for Fashion Design


  1. why there is no national artist in MUSIC?

    Reply Delete
  2. What did Carlo J. Caparas do or contribute to deserve the award? Are producing, writing and directing Massacre Films enough merit? It's just so sad that even the highest recognition for artists is now blemished with intrigues and "corruption". Nakakahiya sa mga previous winners, please naman Malacanang, umayos naman kayo...

    Reply Delete
  3. Agapito Mapagmahal Jr. January 28, 2011 at 4:03 AM

    I admire those national artist who really contribute for our country, but I hate those who chosen because of POLITICS.

    Reply Delete